LibGuides: Databases by Subject: Reference

Reference Databases

Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities This link opens in a new window
Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities helps researchers match their manuscripts with the scholarly journals which are most likely to publish those manuscripts. The searchable Directory provides contact information, review process data, manuscript specifications and guidelines, acceptance rates, and publication information for each journal.
CHOICE This link opens in a new window
book reviews aimed at academic libraries
Dictionary of Literary Biography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Nearly 10,000 biographical and critical essays on the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Oxford English Dictionary Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides the complete text of the OED's twenty-volume Second Edition and three-volume Additions Series, together with the continually updated third edition. New entries are published each quarter, Search by headword, words in definition, parts of speech, or keywords, authors, or works for quotations. New features include the ability to browse by category, such as archaic words, to browse by timeline, and the Historical Thesaurus, a taxonomic classification of the majority of senses and headwords.
Oxford Reference Online Premium This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference Online brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world's biggest and most trusted reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource. The Premium Collection offers a huge range of fully-indexed, extensively linked, up to date, and cross-searchable dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press, including detailed information across a broad subject range from titles in the world-renowned Oxford Companions series.

Statistical Abstract
The Statistical Abstract of the United States, published since 1878, is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
U.S. Census

World Data Analyst This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
World Data Analyst offers detailed statistical comparisons of countries around the world, using both the most recent statistics and historical figures. Plus, students can create tables, charts, and even export the information to a spreadsheet for printing and data crunching. Students can also link to country articles from the Britannica Concise Encyclopedia. It all leads to better understanding of our ever-changing world.