Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Literature, Theatre & Film Databases
Ambrose Video (BBC Shakespeare Collection and History of Civil Rights in America)
Streaming video access to 37 BBC Shakesepare Plays and the series “A History of Civil Rights in America”.
Biographical and bibliographical information and references on more than 120,000 U.S. and international authors.
Contemporary Literary Criticism
An extensive collection of critical essays on contemporary authors.
Dictionary of Literary Biography
Nearly 10,000 biographical and critical essays on the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres.
Drama for Students
Provides critical overviews of the most-studied plays of all time periods, nations, and cultures. Includes discussions of themes, characters, critical reception, dramatic devices and traditions as well as cultural and historical context.
Eighteenth Century Collection Online
Based on the English Short Title Catalog, the 18th Century Collection Online contains over 180,000 titles in full text published in the UK in the 18th century
English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC)
A catalogue of holdings in more than 2000 libraries world-wide, including the British Library.
Films On Demand
Films On Demand is a streaming video platform providing educational video content in a number of subject areas
Backfiles of scholarly publications including the full runs of each journal which allows viewing of the articles exactly as they appear in print.
Literature Online (LION)
A library of English and American poetry, drama and prose, full-text literature journals, and criticism and reference resources.
Literature Resource Center
Biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of more than 120,000 authors from every age and literary discipline.
Access to more than 135,000 full-text poems, stories, plays and more.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text
Research tool for the humanities indexing international scholarly materials on modern language, literature, linguistics, and folklore.
Novels for Students
Provides critical overviews of novels from various cultures and time periods. Includes discussions of plot, characters, themes and structure as well as the work's cultural and historical significance.
Scribner Writers Series
Essays on more than 1,600 authors and literary genres.