LibGuides: RN-to-BSN Program: Databases & Journals

Using the AUM Library Quick Search

You can use the AUM Library Quick Search feature to find library resources. Make sure to limit your search to Full-Text, and if needed, limit to Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed).

Nursing Databases

Nursing Databases
CINAHL Training Video

CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
The definitive database for nursing and allied health, covering over 3000 leading journals, including Evidence-Based Care Sheets and Quick Lessons for specific disorders and diseases.
Joanna Briggs Institute This link opens in a new window
The Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI) is one of the world's leading evidence-based practice (EBP) organizations. JBI's evidence-based practice resources assist healthcare professionals to implement an effective evidence-based practice program to provide the best possible patient care.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
A product of the U.S. National Library of Medicine for medical researchers, practitioners, medical school faculty and students, indexing over 3500 journals (most having abstracts available) in all areas of medicine.
Ovid Nursing Database This link opens in a new window
Coverage of 63 primary nursing and medical journals with coverage as far back as 1946 and coming to the present
Nursing and Allied Health This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracting and indexing for more than 620 titles dealing with nursing and allied health subjects, with over 560 titles in full-text.
Pubmed Central This link opens in a new window
The U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
About 540 scholarly full text journals and abstracts and indexing for over 570 journals focusing on many medical disciplines.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
A collection of databases that contain high–quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision–making.
MedlinePlus This link opens in a new window
Authoritative information from NLM, the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
An information service for the interdisciplinary research needs of academic, corporate and educational institutions, offering comprehensive coverage of literature across all fields of science.

Nursing Journals

Scholarly/Professional Nursing Journals are individual publications that are published on a regular basis (monthly, quarterly, annually, etc.) The AUM Library subscribes to over 300 nursing specific journals. Below is a selection of recommended nursing journals, but we also recommend you peruse the complete list!

Alabama Nurse
Covers issues faced by Alabama-based nurses; features local medical studies.
Evidence-Based Nursing
Evidence-Based Nursing systematically searches a wide range of international medical journals applying strict criteria for the validity of research and relevance to best nursing practice. Content is critically appraised then the most relevant articles are summarised into a succinct expert commentary focusing on the papers key findings and implications for clinical practice.
AJN, American Journal of Nursing
AJN is the oldest and largest circulating nursing journal in the world. The Journal's mission is to promote excellence in professional nursing, with a global perspective, by providing cutting edge, evidence-based information that embraces a holistic perspective on health and nursing.
Journal of Research in Nursing
Journal of Research in Nursing publishes quality research papers on healthcare issues that inform nurses and other healthcare professionals globally through linking policy, research and development initiatives to clinical and academic excellence.
**Full-Text Coverage ONLY Available 01/01/2008 - 12/31/2015**
Nurse Practitioner
The Nurse Practitioner is the leading monthly source for clinical, practical, cutting-edge information for advanced practice nurses and other primary care clinicians. Each issue presents peer-reviewed articles that range from clinical topics and research to political and practice issues.