Skip to main content

HIST3940: Historical Methods (Dr. Severance): Home

History Research

This guide offers primary and secondary resources helpful for your paper on the Civil War in Alabama.  You'll find links to library databases, the online catalog, government information, libraries and archives, and websites related to the Civil War.

AUM Archives & Special Collections Hours/Appointments

AUM Library Archives & Special Collections Department-Appointment Policy

In response to the outbreak of COVID-19, the AUM Library continues to work in close partnership with the University and our campus partners to take the necessary steps to protect and safeguard our community. The safety and wellbeing of our AUM Library users and staff is our utmost priority.

Taking into consideration the public health recommendations for social distancing and reduced staff capacity in the short-term, the Archives & Special Collections Department will be open by *Appointment Only*.  Appointments will be available between 8:15am - 4:15pm on Mon, Tue, Wed, and Fri. If you need an appointment outside of those days/times, please contact the Archives staff to see if other arrangements can be made. For in-person research requests, patrons should contact the department at least 24 hours in advance of their preferred appointment time.

Please include in your appointment request a list of all materials you wish to access. If it is possible for us to digitize and provide your requested materials remotely, we will do so. To support remote access, digitized scans of materials sent via email are available free of charge.

To make an appointment or consult with Archives & Special Collections staff, email smcneill@aum.edu or call 334-244-3213.

AUM and the AUM Library requires students and employees to wear face coverings and observe social distancing in classrooms and other public areas on campus as part of its efforts to resume face-to-face instruction for the Fall 2020 semester. Masks, or other appropriate face-coverings i.e. face shields, must be worn at all times in the Archives & Special Collections Dept.

Librarian

Samantha McNeilly's picture
Samantha McNeilly
Contact:
Archives & Special Collections Department
802 Library Tower
smcneill@aum.edu
334-244-3213