LibGuides: HIST3940: Historical Methods (Dr. Severance): Reference Books

Reference Books on the American Civil War

The books on this page are located in Reference on the 2nd floor of the Library. They provide quick factual information. Reference books can only be used in the Library.

Historical Dictionary of the Civil War
Reference: E468 .J777 2002
Biographical Dictionary of the Confederacy
Reference: E467 .W2
Women and the American Civil War: An Annotated Bibliography
Reference: Z1242 .M355 2003; also available in EBSCO eBook Collection
The Atlas of the Civil War
Reference: G1201.S5 A85 1994
The Historical Atlas of the Congresses of the Confederate States of America, 1861-1865
Reference: G1281.F8 M3 1994
The Official Military Atlas of the Civil War
Reference: G1201.S5 U6 1983
Battle Chronicles of the Civil War
Reference: E470 .B29 1989
Civil War Prisons & Escapes: A Day-by-Day Chronicle
Reference: E615 .D46 1993
Freedom’s Lawmakers: A Directory of Black Officeholders During Reconstruction
Reference: E185.96 .F64 1993
Encyclopedia of Alabama

AUM Library

AUM Links

Selected Reference Books

How to Do Civil War Research
Call Number: Reference: E468.9 .S27 2000
Historical Dictionary of the Civil War and Reconstruction
Call Number: Reference: E468 .R53 2004
Encyclopedia of the American Civil War: A Political, Social, and Military History
Call Number: Reference: E468 .H47 2000
Civil War Almanac
Call Number: Reference: E468 .F85 2007
The Library of Congress Civil War Desk Reference
Call Number: Reference: E468 .L58 2002
A User's Guide to the Official Records of the American Civil War
Call Number: Reference: E464 .A35 1993
The Chronological Tracking of the American Civil War: Per the Official Records of the War of the Rebellion
Call Number: Reference: E468.3 .M67 1994
The Essential Civil War: A Handbook to the Battles, Armies, Navies, and Commanders
Call Number: Reference: E468 .B55 2006
The Confederate Experience Reader: Selected Documents and Essays
Call Number: Reference: E484 .C6 2008
Changes in Law and Society During the Civil War and Reconstruction: A Legal History Documentary Reader
Call Number: Reference: KF4757 .C48 2009; also available in EBSCO eBook Collection
The Encyclopedia of Civil War Medicine
Call Number: Reference: E621 .S347 2008; also available in EBSCO eBook Collection
Women During the Civil War: An Encyclopedia
Call Number: Reference: E628 .H37 2004
Civil War America: Voices from the Home Front
Call Number: Reference: E468.9 .M127 2003
Roster of the Courts-Martial in the Confederate States
Call Number: Reference: E548 .B86 2001
Encyclopedia of the Reconstruction Era
Call Number: Reference: E668 .E53 2006
Slavery in the United States: A Social, Political, and Historical Encyclopedia
Call Number: Reference: E441 .S635 2007

Librarian

Samantha McNeilly

Email Me

Contact:

Archives & Special Collections Department
802 Library Tower
smcneill@aum.edu

334-244-3213