Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reference books are often an excellent starting place for finding a topic or background information on your topic. These books are located in the Reference Collection on the 2nd floor. They may not be checked out, but you can make photcopies from the books. Listed below are some Reference books that might be useful as you begin your research on immigration. Ask at the Reference Desk if you need assistance with locating the books.
Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice by
Call Number: HM671 .E53 2007 2nd floor Reference
Publication Date: 2007-04-13
The Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice presents a comprehensive overview of the field with topics of varying dimensions, breadth, and length. This three-volume Encyclopedia is designed for readers to understand the topics, concepts, and ideas that motivate and shape the fields of activism, civil engagement, and social justice and includes biographies of the major thinkers and leaders who have influenced and continue to influence the study of activism.
Encyclopedia of American Social Movements by
Call Number: HN57 .E594 2004 2nd floor Reference
Publication Date: 2004-08-31
This four-volume set examines every social movement in American history - from the great struggles for abolition, civil rights, and women's equality to the more specific quests for prohibition, consumer safety, unemployment insurance, and global justice.
Encyclopedia of Gender in Media by
Call Number: P96 .S5 E53 2012 2nd Floor Reference
Publication Date: 2012-05-18
The media strongly influences our everyday notions of gender roles and our concepts of gender identity. The Encyclopedia of Gender in Media critically examines the role of the media in enabling, facilitating, or challenging the social construction of gender in our society. The work addresses a variety of entertainment and news content in print and electronic media and explores the social construction of masculinity as well as femininity. In addition to representations of gender within the media, we also analyze gender issues related to media ownership and the media workforce. Despite an abundance of textbooks, anthologies, and university press monographs on the topic of gender in media, until now no comprehensive reference work has tackled this topic of perennial interest in student research and papers.
The Handbook of Inequality and Socio-Economic Position by
Call Number: HM548 .H36 2007 2nd Floor Reference
Publication Date: 2007-06-13
This Handbook is the definitive resource for anyone wishing to quickly look up and understand key concepts and measurements relating to socioeconomic position and inequalities.
Handbook of the Sociology of Racial and Ethnic Relations by
Call Number: HT1521 .H29 2007 2nd floor Reference
Publication Date: 2007-08-13
The study of racial and ethnic relations has become one of the most written about aspects in sociology and sociological research. In both North America and Europe, many "traditional" cultures are feeling threatened by immigrants from Latin America, Africa and Asia. This handbook is a true international collaboration looking at racial and ethnic relations from an academic perspective. It starts from the principle that sociology is at the hub of the human sciences concerned with racial and ethnic relations.
Queer America by
Call Number: HQ76.3 .U5 E35 2008 2nd Floor Reference
Publication Date: 2008-03-30
Perhaps no topic today is politically more divisive than homosexuality, particularly when it is coupled with the deeply rooted concept of civil rights. This work focuses on 20th/21st- century U. S. history as it pertains to GLBT history. Major issues and events such as the Stonewall riot, "Don't Ask, Don't Tell" in the military, same-sex marriage, gay rights, gay pride, organizations and alliances, AIDS, and legal battles and court cases are discussed. Also included are sidebars highlighting major debates, legal landmarks and key individuals. A timeline and further reading sections concluding each chapter as well as a full bibliography and black and white images enhance the text.
Rich and Poor in America by
Call Number: HC110 .I5 G55 2008 Reference (2nd Floor)
Publication Date: 2008-05-12
The Social Science Jargon Buster by
Call Number: H41 .O44 2007 2nd Floor Reference
Publication Date: 2007-10-08
Are you confused by academic jargon? Do you know your 'discourse' from your 'dialectic'? Can you tell the difference between 'anomie' and 'alienation'? The Social Science Jargon Buster tackles the most confusing concepts in the social sciences in an easy-to-understand, erudite, and witty way. Zina O'Leary brings impressive clarity and insight to even the most complex terms. This practical, down-to-earth dictionary helps students new to the social sciences gain a thorough understanding of the key terms. Each entry includes a concise core definition, a more detailed explanation, and an introduction to the associated debates and controversies. In addition, the book includes a useful outline of the practical application of each term, as well as a list of key figures and recommendations for further reading. This dictionary brings a refreshing clarity to social science discourse, making it essential reading for all students on undergraduate social science courses.
A Statistical Portrait of the United States by
Call Number: HA214 .S85 2002 2nd Floor Reference
Publication Date: 2002-08-01