Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Call Number: Accessible in Encyclopaedia Britannica Online Academic database
This database is listed under the Reference category in the AUM Databases list and is also linked in the Statistics box below.
Atlas of the World
Call Number: REF: G1021 .A7545 2003x
People on the Move: An Atlas of Migration
Call Number: REF: G1046 .E27 P46 2010
The Atlas of World Hunger
Call Number: Accessible in EBSCO eBook Collection
Goode’s Atlas of Political Geography
Call Number: REF: G1046 .F1 G5 2005
International Historical Statistics: Africa, Asia and Oceania 1750-2005
Call Number: REF: HA4675 .M552 2007
The World Data Analyst is accessible in the Encyclopaedia Britannica Online Academic database. Click on the World Data Analyst link under Research Tools in the database.
You can find U.S. and international statistics online in the Statistical Abstract.
The CIA World Factbook offers country comparisons for population, migration, the economy, communications, military, and transportation as well as basic information on countries
Statistics are also available in the database CultureGrams. Click on Graphs and Data Tables at the top of the screen to begin creating statistical tables.
Other sources for statistics:
International Historical Statistics: Europe, 1750-2005
Call Number: REF: HA1107 .M5 2007
International Historical Statistics: The Americas, 1750-2005
Call Number: REF: HA175 .M55 2007
World Population: A Reference Handbook
Call Number: REF: HB871 .G47 2005
Reference books are often an excellent starting place for finding a topic or background information on your topic. These books are located in the Reference Collection on the 2nd floor. They may not be checked out, but you can make photcopies from the books. Listed below are some Reference books that might be useful as you begin your research. Ask at the Reference Desk if you need assistance with locating the books.
Making Sense: A Student’s Guide to Research and Writing: Geography and Environmental Sciences
Call Number: REF: G70 .N67 2009
Geographic Information: How to Find It, How to Use It
Call Number: REF: Z6001 .A1 J65 2003
Encyclopedia of Geography
Call Number: REF: G63 .E554 2010
A Dictionary of Geography
Call Number: REF: G108 .E5 M6 2008
Key Concepts in Geography
Call Number: REF: G70 .K489 2003
Encyclopedia of the World’s Nations and Cultures
Call Number: REF: G63 .K874 2007
Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations
Call Number: REF: G63 .W67 2007
The Europa World Year Book
Call Number: REF: JN1 .E85
Encyclopedia of Human Geography
Call Number: REF: GF4 .E54 2006
The SAGE Handbook of Political Geography
Call Number: REF: JC319 .S26 2008