It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
COVID-19 and Alabama Libraries : Academic Libraries
Information that Alabama libraries - academic, school and public - can use and share with their communities!
Situations may arise where you need to offer more of your library services virtually. Maybe you have some online services and want to increase their usage. This session will show you how you can use your Springshare tools, to offer reference help even if your physical doors are closed.
All students, faculty members, administrators, staff members, or any other members of an institution of higher education are entitled to the library services and resources of that institution, including direct communication with the appropriate library personnel, regardless of where they are physically located in relation to the campus; where they attend class in relation to the institution’s main campus; or the modality by which they take courses. Academic libraries must, therefore, meet the information and research needs of all these constituents, wherever they may be. This principle of access entitlement, as applied to individuals at a distance, is the undergirding and uncompromising conviction of the ACRL Standards for Distance Learning Library Services.
For those who have the Springshare LibGuide product, this training talks about the changes to how classes are being conducted and how we need to adapt our methods for sharing information and resources. In this short session, we will look at creating a guide to support a course that has just gone online. This session assumes a base knowledge of LibGuides.
This is a UIPO (and allies) community-sourced list of video and other licensed content that library vendors are making available on free or modified terms during the COVID-19 outbreak. We cannot vouch for any particular vendor, but will include press releases and other statements as we make them available.
This is a list ONLY for subscription or licensed content that is now being made available for free or on significantly reduced/discounted terms. It is NOT a list for various “how to move online and access our content remotely (for money)” webinars.
If your campus has been closed due to COVID-19, your students on US campuses get a free subscription to Cengage Unlimited through the remainder of the term, which gives them access to all Cengage ebooks and platforms
We have brought together a number of freely available research resources related to the Coronavirus group of viruses, and epidemics more broadly.
We are making these resources freely available to access. Whilst these materials do not only relate to the current clinical challenges of COVID-19, they may provide relevant context to how the world reacted to other previous Coronavirus outbreaks, notably SARS.
HeinOnline Academic includes more than 100 million pages of multidisciplinary content in more than 100 subject areas, including history, political science, criminal justice, religious studies, international relations, women’s studies, pre-law, and many more. With more historical content than any other database, HeinOnline provides access to 300+ years of information on political development and the complete history of the creation of government and legal systems around the world. Among the many databases included, HeinOnline’s journal collection features nearly 2,800 periodicals relating to a variety of subject areas, with all coverage dating from inception to the most currently published issues in most cases.
Including coverage of the COVID-19 outbreak, this database curates openly available content related to coronaviruses. It includes thousands of open-access articles from the world’s leading publishers as well as current research from pre-print repositories such as arXiv and will continue to grow and evolve as more is learned about the pandemic.
To ensure that all students have access to their course materials amidst the COVID-19 outbreak, we're partnering with the publishing community to provide you with up to 7 free eBooks from participating publishers.
Following our decision to make our relevant COVID-19 content free to access, we have now decided to remove all access controls on our journals for the time being. We want to support our librarian and researcher communities, and understand that people may be working remotely for a long while. We do not want access issues to impede any work for our end-users during this tumultuous time.
Because the paywall will be down, this means that you will have access to additional content for researchers.
VitalSource Helps supports students who may have lost access to course materials due to a campus moving online to prevent the spread of COVID-19. Students and instructors at impacted 2 and 4-year non-profit institutions in the U.S. can now access an expansive catalog of e-texts through May 25, 2020, at no charge.
"We share the concerns of professors and administrators impacted by the mid-semester disruptions from COVID-19. Through our partnership with Top Hat, Fountainhead Press is offering our core textbooks and the Top Hat platform free of charge for professors and students through the remainder of this semester. If you would like to take your Fountainhead textbook online with Top Hat, please speak to your Fountainhead representative about the options available to do so free of charge."