Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Keywords & Terms
Before this disease was officially named, it had been referred to by several names.
Scholarly sources, use these terms:
- SARS-CoV-2 (the virus that causes the Novel Coronavirus disease)
- 2019-N-COV (scientific abbreviation for 2019 Novel Coronavirus)
News sources, use these terms:
- Novel coronavirus
- Wuhan coronavirus
Library Databases to Find Coronavirus News
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Full text for 139 regional U.S. newspapers, eighteen international newspapers, six newswires, nine newspaper columns, and citations for four national newspapers.
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Local and regional news coverage from newspapers around the United States
Satellite Images of China
NASA and European Space Agency (ESA) pollution monitoring satellites have detected significant decreases in nitrogen dioxide (NO2) over China. There is evidence that the change is at least partly related to the economic slowdown following the outbreak of coronavirus (COVID-19).
Trusted News Sources
There is a big opportunity for misinformation to spread both intentionally and unintentionally whenever there is a rapidly developing news story, especially one that might be causing some fear and panic. While it's always important to think about the quality of your sources, it becomes especially important in these situations.
Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19), Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
The latest information from the CDC. Provides introductory information to COVID-19 (How it spreads, symptoms, etc), situation updates on cases in the US and abroad, information for travel, etc.
Coronavirus Disease (COVID-19) Outbreak, World Health Organization (WHO)
The WHO's information and guidance page on COVID-19. Includes news updates, questions and answers, introductory information, and "Myth-busters" about the virus.
Novel Coronavirus Updates (COVID-19), Oregon Health Authority
The Oregon Health Authority's update page on the Coronavirus situation in Oregon. Includes the counte of persons under monitoring and investigation, FAQs, fact sheets, and other resources. Updated weekly on Tuesdays starting March 3.
Coronavirus Coverage, New York Times
Award-winning journalism; center-left editorial perspective.
Coronavirus Coverage, The Guardian
News from an award-winning British newspaper with significant U.S. coverage.
Coronavirus Coverage, BBC
News from the respected British Broadcasting Company.
Nature is a journal that covers primary research and news events about the greatest challenges that we face as a society today such as COVID-19.