Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Videos - How To Use YOUR Library's Resources
Use one or more of the Library's databases linked from the boxes to the right to find journal, magazine, and newspaper articles on your topic. You may also want to try additional databases that are not listed here.
In the sciences, a primary source describes original research, while a secondary source analyzes or comments on a primary source or sources. For example, a research article is primary literature because it describes an original experiment and its results, while a review article is secondary literature because it collates multiple research articles to describe the current state of the field. A tertiary source is an index or consolidation of primary and secondary sources.
Examples of primary sources:
- Research articles
- Theses and dissertations
- Conference proceedings
- Unrefined data sets
Examples of secondary sources:
- Review articles
- Data compilations
- Most books
Examples of tertiary sources:
- Field and identification guides
Original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy.
General Science Collection
A collection of over 1,000 peer-reviewed journals, providing researchers with the information needed to stay current on the latest scientific developments.
Information covering aspects of human impact on the environment, including content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and efforts to minimize these effects.
Backfiles of scholarly publications including the full runs of each journal which allows viewing of the articles exactly as they appear in print.
Full-text for approximately 147 online journals published by Oxford University Press.
An information service for the interdisciplinary research needs of academic, corporate and educational institutions, offering comprehensive coverage of literature across all fields of science.
Open Access Databases/Sources
The term Open Access, also known as OA, refers to the free and unrestricted online access to and publication of research such as journal articles and books. This type of content is open to everyone with no access restrictions or fees. The resources listed below provide links to OA databases relating to Botany and Plant Biology and more generally, science subjects. Each resource gives a general description of the resource including research areas and topics, publisher and publication date ranges.
American Journal of Botany
Published by the Botanical Society of America (1910 - present). Includes peer-reviewed, innovative, significant research of interest to a wide audience of scientists in all areas of plant biology (e.g., biodiversity, structure, function, development, genetics, evolution, reproduction, systematics), all levels of organization (molecular to ecosystem), and all plant groups and allied organisms (cyanobacteria, algae, fungi, and lichens). The journal includes Primary Research and Review Articles, Brief Communications, Special Invited Papers, and Special Issues focused on a central theme of interest to the community.
Published by Springer Nature in cooperation with The New York Botanical Garden (1947-present). Each issue contains original research articles, review articles, book reviews, annotated bibliographies, and notes on economic plants including the relationship between plants and people around the world, encompassing the past, present, and potential uses of plants.
Peer-reviewed articles, theses, and scholarly books from journals, professional organizations, and university and preprint repositories
Integrated Taxonomic Information System (ITS)
Find authoritative taxonomic information on plants, animals, fungi, and microbes of North America and the world.
International Plant Names
Produced by a collaboration between The Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew, The Harvard University Herbaria, and The Australian National Herbarium, hosted by the Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew. IPNI provides nomenclatural information (spelling, author, types and first place and date of publication) for the scientific names of Vascular Plants from Family down to infraspecific ranks. You can search for plant names, authors or publications in the search box above. Click the down arrow for advanced search options. New records are added daily, and the IPNI team are continuously working to improve data standardization.
IPNI provides links to protologues in online articles or page scans from the Biodiversity Heritage Library as well as links to taxonomic data (synonymy and native distribution) through the Plants of the World Online.
Journal of Experimental Botany (JXB)
Published by Oxford Academic. (1950-present). Provides original research and new information on fundamental processes or mechanisms including those underpinning the improvement of plants for the sustainable production of food, fuel and renewable materials. Areas of research included, but not limited to are: Growth and development, Cell biology, Metabolism, Plant-environment interactions, and Crop molecular genetics.
Native Plants of North America
Comprehensive database of native plants for North America. Created by The University of Texas at Austin Lady Bird Johnson Wildflower Center.
Published by Wiley Online Libraries (2017-present). Features original research articles and editorials relating to plant sciences fields.