LibGuides: ENGL1020: English Composition II (Jason Shifferd): Food Industry Internet Sources

Government Websites

Food Processing
Information source for food and beverage manufacturers
Food Marketing Institute
Food Marketing Institute proudly advocates on behalf of the food retail industry. FMI’s U.S. members operate nearly 40,000 retail food stores. Through programs in public affairs, food safety, research, education and industry relations, FMI offers resources and provides valuable benefits. Includes online Newsroom with relevant press releases, industry sub-topic profiles, Food Retail Buyer's Guide, and more.

Dietary Supplement Label Database The Dietary Supplement Label Database (DSLD) is a joint project of the National Institutes of Health (NIH) Office of Dietary Supplements (ODS) and National Library of Medicine (NLM). The DSLD contains the full label contents from a sample of dietary supplement products marketed in the U.S.

Food and Drug Law Institute
Food and Nutrition Information Center
From the U.S.D.A.
Food Insight
From the International Food Information Council Foundation
Food Labeling
From the U.S. Department of Agriculture
Food Marketing Institute

Trade association representing food retailers and wholesalers worldwide.
FRAC: Food Research and Action Center
National organization working to improve public policies to eradicate hunger.
Institute of Food Science and Technology (Great Britain)
Institute of Food Technologists
Nutrition Data
Includes facts & Calorie Counter: Food composition and nutrition tables.
Yale Rudd Center for Food Policy and Obesity

Statistical sources can provide such information as average nutritional intake in the U.S., or the number of people on federal food programs.

Nutrition Country Profiles
From FIVIMS (Food Insecurity and Vulnerability, Information and Mapping Systems), FAQ of the United Nations. Contains reviews of food and nutrition situations in individual countries.
FAOSTAT
Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations. Online database of 3 million time-series records covering international statistics.
Food and Nutrition Information Center
From the U.S.D.A.
Food Consumption Trends
From the Agricultural Marketing Resource Center at Iowa State University.
Hunger Facts
From Feeding America
Hunger Studies
From Feeding America
National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey
(NHANES) From the National Center for Health Statistics.
NationMaster Food Statistics
U.S. Census Bureau

Center for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition
From the U.S. Food and Drug Administration.
Food Safety and Inspection Services (FSIS)
Of the U.S.D.A.
Food Safety Research Information Office
From the U.S. Department of Agriculture.
FoodSafety.gov
Gateway site for professionals and consumers.

Professional organizations often publish news and research articles.