EBSCO eBooks: EBSCO eBook Basics

You can take notes on eBooks and save them to your My EBSCOhost folder for later viewing. Here's how:

1. From the page of the eBook on which you would like to leave a note, click on the Notes icon in the toolbar.
2. Click the + New Note button that appears in the Notes area. If there are existing notes, they appear in a list in the Notes area. Click the Sign In link to save your note to your My EBSCOhost folder account.
3. Enter your note and click the Save button. You can adjust how the text appears in your note using the Bold, Italics, and Underline buttons above the text field. Your saved note will appear in the Notes list.
4. Click the X in the upper-left corner to close the Notes area.

There are two ways to search for eBooks:

1. Search for eBooks using the AUM Library online catalog. You may do an author, title, subject or keyword search in the catalog. The resulting list may include eBooks. You know you have an eBook if the bibliographic record says “computer file” OR "electronic resource" and the location is "AUM Library - Available through the Internet." The web link says

   Bibliographic record display An electronic book accessible through the World Wide Web; click for information.

   Clicking on the link will take you to the book and you may browse it or check it out to read online. You may also add the phrase “electronic books” as a keyword or subject to restrict your search to eBooks only.

2. Search for eBooks directly from the EBSCO eBook Collection site. You may search by title, author, subject, or keyword.

Browse EBSCO eBooks by latest, featured or category.

eBooks can be read online in the eBook Viewer by clicking the eBook Full Text link in the Result List or Detailed Record.

Searching the eBook collection is like searching any other EBSCO resource.

You can search eBooks when you search other EBSCO databases by clicking on Choose Databases above the search box, or add databases to your eBooks search.

This guide is based on a College of the Mainland Library (Texas City, Texas) LibGuide by Kathryn Park: http://libguides.com.edu/EBSCOeBooks

Contact Kathryn Park about reusing any content