LibGuides: ELEM 4200: Methods of Teaching Elementary Science: Reference Books

AUM Library

AUM Links

Reference Books

A to Zoo
Call Number: REF PN1009 .A1 L56 2010
Subject access to children's picture books.

Reference books are often an excellent starting place for finding a topic or background information on your topic. These books are located in the Reference Collection on the 2nd floor. They may not be checked out, but you can make photcopies or scan pages from the books. Listed below are some Reference books that might be useful as you begin your research. Ask at the Reference Desk if you need assistance with locating the books.

These reference titles are excellent for locating children's literature titles by subject and reading level.

Best Books for Children
Call Number: REF Z1037 .G48 2010
Provides subject access to children's literature for preschool through grade 6. Includes a brief summary and grade level for each book as well as a citation to a reviewing source.
Best Books for Middle School and Junior High Readers, Grades 6-9
Call Number: REF Z1037 .G482 2009
Provides subject access to children's literature for grades 6-9. Each entry includes a brief summary, grade level, and citation to a reviewing source.
Best Books for High School Readers, Grades 9-12
Call Number: REF 037 .G4816 2009
Provides subject access to books recommended for grades 9-12. Each entry includes a brief summary, grade level, and a citation to reviewing sources.
Neal-Schuman Guide to Recommended Children's Books and Media for Use with Every Elementary Subject
Call Number: REF PN1009 .A1 M375 2010
Presents entries for children's books, videos, and other media as well as ideas for using them. Entries are grouped into one of eight major subject areas. Materials covered are published since 2001.
Neal-Schuman Guide to Recommended Children's Books and Media for Use with Every Elementary Subject
Call Number: REF PN1009 .A1 M375 2002
Presents entries for children's books, videos, and other media as well as ideas for using them. Entries are grouped into one of eight major subject areas. Materials covered are published before 2001 and include some classic works.
Best Books for Boys
Call Number: REF Z1039 .B67 Z23 2008
Provides a resource for educators looking for books that boys will enjoy reading. Arranged by broad subject categories, each entry includes a short summary and grade level.
Across Cultures
Call Number: REF Z1037 .E19 2007
A guide to multicultural literature for children.