Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Foundation Center Locations
Foundation Center Databases
Are you looking for a grant or fiscal sponsor? To help you identify prospective sources of funding, the AUM Library provides free access to the Foundation Center’s core databases: Foundation Directory Online Professional, Foundation Grants to Individuals Online, and Foundation Maps.
- Foundation Directory Online Professional reveals essential facts about more than 140,000 private and federal grantmakers and their funding activities worldwide, using grantmaker profiles and funding history. Discover prospective funders for nonprofit organizations or similar groups by subject, geographic area, population served, and more. Use the Pathways visualization to identify either prospective collaborators or new funders based on past funding.
- Foundation Grants to Individuals Online focuses on non-governmental grantmakers that award grants or provide fiscal sponsorship for individuals, especially funding for students, artists, and researchers.
- Foundation Maps allows users to generate visualizations of funding activities, including maps, constellation charts, and pathway charts. It includes non-governmental and federal funders.
The databases are accessible from computers on the 2nd floor of the Library during the hours the Library is open. Just click on the "Foundation Center Databases" shortcut on the desktop to get started! Ask for assistance at the Reference Desk.
FDO Quick Guide
Download a short user guide for Foundation Directory Online!
Philanthropy Classification System
Explore the vocabulary terms used to describe grantmakers, recipients, and grants in the Foundation Center's databases to improve your search skills.
Foundation Center Free Grantseeking Search Options
Not in the Library? The Foundation Center has some search tools that do not require a subscription. The following may be used from any location for free.
Foundation Directory Online Quick Start
Find basic information on U.S. grantmakers. Free, but registration required. Access using the link above or by using the search boxes to the left.
Search for organizations' tax returns. Access using the link above or by using the search boxes to the right.
Requests for Proposals
Browse or search RFPs posted in Philanthropy News Digest.