AUM Records Management: Home

Records Management Forms

Records Retention/Disposal Instructions

As a public university, AUM must comply with records retention schedules that have been established by the State of Alabama. The Archives & Special Collections unit has been designated as the University Liaison to the State Records Commission by the Chancellor's Office to ensure that AUM maintains compliance with these practices. The Public Universities of Alabama-Records Disposition Authority, created by the State Records Commission with members of public universities in Alabama, is the primary document used on campus to identify how long certain records should be kept. These retention schedules have been created to protect the University from litigation and other instances where documentary evidence may be necessary.

Before destroying any records, a Records Disposition Form must be completed and sent to the Archives & Special Collections Dept. for approval. This will ensure that the records have past the scheduled retention date required by the state and federal governments. 

• Use the AUM General Records Schedule to find the proper title for the records to be disposed. Include the record titles, the quantity, and number of boxes for each item.
• Once the Disposition form has been completed, return it to: Samantha McNeilly/Archives & Special Collections; 802 Library Tower or email smcneill@aum.edu.
• You will receive a signed copy of the form back within a few days.

If you come across items that you think may be of interest to us or have questions, contact the Archives via email at archives@aum.edu, or call 334-244-3213.

State Records Commission