Skip to main content

AUM Records Management: Home

As a public university, AUM must comply with records retention schedules that have been established by the State of Alabama. This guide contains information regarding records management for AUM.

Welcome to the AUM Library

 

Use this guide as a starting point for Records Management questions.  The guide links to resources for finding information regarding the approval process for disposal or retention of records for AUM departments.

If you need assistance, please contact Samantha McNeilly, AUM's liaison to the State Records Commission, at 244-3213 or smcneill@aum.edu, or stop by room 802 in the library tower.

Records Management Guidelines & Forms

Records Retention/Disposal Instructions

As a public university, AUM must comply with records retention schedules that have been established by the State of Alabama. The Archives & Special Collections unit has been designated as the University Liaison to the State Records Commission by the Chancellor's Office to ensure that AUM maintains compliance with these practices. The Public Universities of Alabama-Records Disposition Authority, created by the State Records Commission with members of public universities in Alabama, is the primary document used on campus to identify how long certain records should be kept. These retention schedules have been created to protect the University from litigation and other instances where documentary evidence may be necessary. Following established records management practices and participating in regular campus-wide record purges will help departments and offices valuable time and free up space, and will save the University as a whole from unnecessary costs. Please consider these guidelines when handling University records: Before destroying any records, a Records Disposition Form must be completed and send to Archives & Special Collections for approval. This will ensure that the records have past the scheduled retention date required by the state and federal governments. Archives & Special Collections actively collects materials that document the history of AUM. If you come across items that you think may be of interest to us, contact the Archives via email at archives@aum.edu If you have questions please contact the Archives & Special Collections Department at 244-3213, or the Dean’s office at 244-3200.

AUM Records Management Page

State Records Disposition Authority

Librarian

Samantha McNeilly's picture
Samantha McNeilly
Contact:
334-244-3213

Archives & Special Collections Department

802 Library Tower
334-244-3213